On Muscles and Inches

Hi there! I wanted to share with you my journey on using the 30 Day Shred. I have known and used this method in the past and I can say for sure that this is effective, safe, and best of all-NOT A QUICK FIX. I have heard of many diets going around, my auntie, for one is a fan of those. When the lettuce diet was a fad, she ate nothing but lettuce and a few viands. When those laxative teas were advertised, she used those to lose weight. Last September, she heard of the Skyflakes diet and she indulged in that too! Sure she grew thin but not a good kind of thin. She lost weight and inches because she starved herself. She deprived herself of the nutrients that can be found in a healthy diet. Guess what her answer is everytime I ask her why she keeps on dieting.

She believes that “being skinny means being healthy.”

And that’s just wrong. Being thin does not immediately mean one is healthy nor does being overweight mean one is not. There are several factors to consider with regards to being healthy and not just physical appearance. A few months after dieting, she gained back her lost inches and pounds. Why? Because it was the wrong way of losing weight.

That is something I vowed never to do, no matter how much weight I gain, I will never, ever, resort to quick fixes especially if it compromises health. Ask yourself. Is it really worth it? Will I not regret this decision? Can I not seek other activities to help me lose weight? How does this affect my body, not just externally but also internally? 

The use of laxatives alone is not recommended for those without any signs of constipation. Otherwise, your bowel will become “addicted” to your regular use of laxatives and instead of developing a healthy bowel movement, the more you promote constipation. Dehydration and loss of electrolytes are alarming side effects of the use of laxatives, which, if not properly managed, may lead to the hospitalization of an individual for forced induction of lost fluids and electrolytes.

Scared yet?

Alright, now, there are other alternatives to losing weight and the very first thing to keep in mind is that this is a process, not a one stop, one click fix. You gained those inches for several months so expect to work your butt off to shed.

The 30 Day Shred is a program by Jillian Michaels, a known trainer in the TV show The Biggest Loser. It is divided into 3 levels, increasing the load of exercise every level but all within 30 minutes. The only equipment needed are a mat and some weights. It is recommended that newbies follow 10 days for level 1 then the next 10 for level 2 then the last 10 for level 3 for a total of 1 month. I prefer using a different level everyday. I read somewhere that this method surprises the muscles leading to a more effective workout. This also promotes muscle growth and more muscles means faster metabolism.

I was my heaviest(70kg) during the PNLE and NMAT review days that once they were finished I vowed to shred off those added inches. Enter Jillian Michaels. Her videos are uploaded in YouTube by the way so check them out if you have time. After 2 months, I’ve lost 10 kg! Here’s the 2 months documentation:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happy workout! 😁

 

 

Leave a Reply

