Welcome to Nursing!

First year nursing life went by so fast. For the first semester, there were only two nursing subjects. The first one introduced was Theoretical Foundations of Nursing, where the  favorite nursing theory was introduced to us(Environmental Theory), as well as our nanay in nursing – Florence Nightingale. Then the application through Fundamentals of Nursing. Here’s the fun part.

The USI nursing faculty has compiled a list of nursing procedures done in hospital and community settings. They have set a standard of steps which must be done in complicance to the procedure. After each theory taught, when applicable, we had a Return Demonstration to show our skills and application of the theory. Guess what the first return demo was? Simple handwashing. For the first return demo, I’m proud to say I got the perfect score. Thus, my momentum built up and my will to graduate with honors spiked up.

First year was the time that we were taught the bedmaking skill. The night before, I was so busy practicing it in my own bed that I slept wonderfully. Who wouldn’t when your pillow is all fluffed up and your bedsheet crease-free? Haha, okay so here’s the funny part. We were all partnered up to demonstrate bedmaking with a patient. So the first thing to do would be to ask the patient to move to one side, or assist him/her to one side and do one side of the bed first, then move the patient back to the done side and repeat the process on the other side. There are 3 layers of cloth placed on the mattress – the top coat, the rubber sheet and the draw sheet. Our partner, the patient was supposed to be independent and conscious but relaxed. Well apparently, my partner was so relaxed and a bit on the heavy side that when I pulled the rubber sheet underneath her, it ripped! It was so loud when it ripped too! Not a single eye was dry after that, even my CI was laughing. Lesson learned after my turn though, a skinny person was required to be the patient after that. Me? I sent the rubber sheet to the sewing room and paid to have it resewn.

Then we were taught how to administer medications through the oral route, intradermal, sub-q  and intramuscular. We were made to perform the return demonstration on a partner. The day before that, we were advised to practice on a tomato. So as a group, we went to a medical store nearby to buy syringes. All the while I was thinking how weird must they think we were that we were buying only one piece of tuberculin, 5cc and 1 cc syringes. I went home looking for a tomato and practiced, but goddarn it, I simply cannot perform ID on a tomato, the skin isn’t as pliable as a human’s. Anyway, the next day, I performed the procedures to my classmate and I found out my weakness – opening vials. I feel like opening them using a gauze or cotton ball would pierce my skin thus rendering the medication unusable because of blood contamination. So it would be a loss to the patient or hospital as well as mine as who else will pay the for a replacement? Anyway, that passed and I passed and it was my turn to be the patient. Everything was going fine, until my partner performed the intramuscular injection. She was about to push it but the CI noticed that she didn’t aspirate, so she was instructed to aspirate. Unfortunately, her aspiration means thoroughly removing the needle then reinserting it. “STOP!” yelled the CI. Haha I was startled as well but the situation was too funny. Therefore, instead of 2, I felt 3 punctures. I consider myself lucky, the next day there was word that someone from the other section repeated ID and IM on her partner, therefore, all her arms were punctured.

Leave a Reply

